I Thought I Was Okay

woman-is-whore-500x500I thought I had moved on, that the things that go on inside the Christian church had just become laughable to me, but I was wrong.  It wasn’t until I started researching Mark Driscoll, that I realized just how dangerous the Church is and how it is the perfect “sanctuary,” for destructive and evil men.  At first I though Mark Driscoll was just a ridiculous boob and really didn’t carry much weight in the Christian community.  Again, I was wrong.

As I researched this man and his deeds, it became too much for me.  I had had a pastor like him and all the hurt and character assassination that pastor Arturo Azurdia was and is responsible for came back to me in a torrent.  The similarities between the two men are stunning.  As I read stories written by some of the people left in Driscoll’s wake, I could not believe how they paralleled the stories of those left in the wake of Art Azurdia and Christ Community Church.  I was one of them.  No matter what these men and others like them do, they continue to stand.  Why?  Because they use fear of sin and fear of causing “division” and of “gossiping,” to control their flock.  They make you feel special to be brought into their inner circle and if you are there you had better shut the f**k up and go with the flow, or as Driscoll is quoted as saying, “You either get on the bus, or you’ll get run over by the bus.”  If you cannot be a yes man, you will be cast out in a way you never thought was possible and your so-called friends, in an effort to remain in that inner circle, will be the first ones to toss you overboard.

So, I’m scraping Pastor Driscoll off and moving on to better things.  Of course, if you want to know more, check out his newest book on marriage.  Go to amazon and read the reviews and the comments on the reviews–extremely enlightening. I just can’t write about him anymore, although there is plenty to say. Reading about him and his church and the poor, pathetic people who still blindly follow him, makes me feel sad, and angry, and helpless to stop people like him.  But, set you down this, as Shakespeare would say, someday that man is going to fall.  Something big is going to happen to Driscoll and unfortunately, it will probably be his loyal followers that will be the casualties, not him.  That’s the way it goes for “spirit filled” men of god. That’s the way it goes in the church of god.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ... Zoe ~
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 03:38:05

    It’s so tempting to take on guys like this but honestly, in situations like this it seems there is no hope. Only hope is that one day he will be exposed. Even then though he’ll just rearrange his message (like Ted Haggard did) and keep on keeping on. Even with scandal, those who worship him will still do so. Others will drop him like a hot potato but he’ll probably always have a flock of some sort.

    It is easy for me to say now but omg, why do women stay? Rhetorical question. Been there. Done that. 😦

    Guys like Driscoll and those who follow him break the first commandment with every breath.

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Feb 12, 2013 @ 08:45:26

      I know what you mean. I would love to take a couple on myself, but many have tried. It is just so prevalent in religion, especially Evangelical/Fundamentalist Christianity. It is rife with Narcissist pastors, pedophile youth leaders, and leaders that suffer with myriad maladies. It is the perfect place for them. Sometimes it’s not so obvious, sometimes it is glaring and yet “the flock” is mute. There are several websites put together by those who have left, or were thrown out of, Mars Hill. Maybe some day he will go down, but I think your scenario is more likely to be the case. I remember when the church I belonged to, Christ Community Church, closed its doors. Some said that I was the one that took it down and that I was the reason they lost “the best pastor they ever had.” That used to devastate me, because it wasn’t true. Now I kind of wish it was. As a woman, I didn’t have that kind of power, but after I began speaking out, others followed, but not until I had been stomped into the ground. It’s okay though. The whole mess got me thinking and with just two or three steps back to question, the truth became evident. I’m glad it happened to me, but I’m strong. My heart goes out to those who are not and are hiding in the shadows, afraid to come out and see the light. It’s heart wrenching.

      Reply

  2. hoot1926
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 18:28:59

    Hi, I stumbled across your blog looking for some information on Art Azurdia. BTW I agree that Mark Driscoll is a pig and teaches heresy; but that’s another story. I was asked to view a video sermon on Artro Azurdia by a fb friend and am now looking for more information on him. I don’t know if this is the same Artro that you speak of, it’s such an odd name it would almost have to be. I did however find a youtube video where he was singing the praises of Mark Driscoll in 2009, which is an automatic RED FLAG . Also, the video he was in, he was speaking at Johnny Mac’s (MacArthur) church/seminary so that too was a red flag. This guy is now “Associate Professor of Pastoral Theology and Director of Pastoral Mentoring” Western Seminary. Just want to make sure this is the same guy I’m looking at. I’m sorry for your grief and pain, I know firsthand the error and devastation these wolves deliver from their pulpits, unfortunately, many times they can become the voices in your head when trying to discern truth from error.

    Reply

Leave a comment