Why So Angry?

angry atheist

“Why are atheists so angry?” It’s the age-old question that Christians like to ask. I’ve thought a lot about it and that question doesn’t make any sense to me. I’m an atheist and I’m not angry. I get angry sometimes, like when my cat throws up on my kitchen counter. Seriously, of all the places. There? Jesus! I wouldn’t say I’m excessively angry though.  I certainly don’t walk around in perpetual state of anger–not even close. I have to say the same for all the atheists I know and I know  a lot of them these days.

It seems to me that Christians take comfort in labeling us atheists angry. Maybe so they can say, “See what people are like when they don’t have god and Jesus?”

Anyway, I was reminded of this, when I saw that very question asked over and over again on a recent social media thread. I thought, why do they keep asking that question? How could they not see the answer that is right in front of their faces? “Read your comments,” I suggested. They didn’t seem to like that, what with it coming from one of those angry atheists and all.

You see, if they read the comments with an open heart and mind, the answer they would find would not really put them in a good light, you know, the WWJD kind of light. It would make them look, let’s see, how to I put this…not Christlike?

I could include all the pertinent comments in their entirety here, but instead I’m going to summarize them. That’s because there were so many–literally hundreds(And this is on just one thread). Some were very protracted and it would have taken too long to correct the spelling and grammatical errors. Seriously, I’m not trying to be mean or anything, just honest. I’m thinking they were just so very “passionate,” that they stopped worrying about being literate. I mean, who needs grammar when you’re spewing the sweet, sweet love of Jesus? Am I right?

So, Christians, why do we seem angry?

Maybe it’s because you said we:

  • Should go to Hell, or Islam, Syria, and/or Isis.
  • Are messed up in the head, alone, miserable, unhappy, possessed of        demons, children of Satan, cowardly, ridiculous, ungrateful, spoiled, liberal and raised by single parents (I’m surprised they did’t say wolves).
  • Should shut up, leave the country, or be deported to Iraq.
  • Should commit suicide, or die, and some said they would be more than willing to help us accomplish that.

The last quote I read, not that it was the last one there, but the last one I could stand reading, was this:

“Merry Christmas and may you go to hell and die.”

So, dear Christians, we atheists aren’t really angry people, you just catch us at our worst moments. It’s kind of like when you walk up and punch someone in the head and after they hit you back, you say, “Why are you so angry?”

Yeah, it’s like that.

One thing I’ve learned since I started calling myself an atheist, is that Christians can be as mean and hateful (righteous anger) as they want to, but we atheists just better keep our heathen mouths shut.

Jesus said it best when he spoke of atheists: “Snakes! You offspring of vipers! How will you escape being condemned to hell?” Oh, wait, he was talking to the religious leaders there…never mind.

 

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sallybr0wn
    Dec 25, 2015 @ 01:58:31

    My mom told me she could tell that I had anger in me…. And that’s because I’m fighting away the love of Christ. I said I’m not angry, I’m just pointing out crazy verses in the Bible and saying, I don’t like the god that did those things. That’s not anger. I’m one of the most even tone people you will ever meet ….I’m a middle aged mom that still acts like a teenager (not stupid, just goofy things) . My mom is the typical Aries so to hear her say that I’m angry is sooooo calling the kettle black.

    I’ve haven’t been open about my non belief, except with my family. Oddly, I have a good size following on social media and people comment about what a great Christian woman I am….. They do this because my son and husband are very religious and open about it. I never ever ever post anything religious and if they looked at who I followed, it would be obvious that I’m agnostic or atheist. I’m assuming one day people will learn I’m not a Christian, I wonder if what they think about me will change.

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Dec 25, 2015 @ 02:06:36

      Wow! You sound like me! It has to be rough with your husband and son being so religious. That’s one thing I don’t have to deal with. On your social media stuff, people will figure it out and it may be a wild ride. Read some of my old posts, you’ll see, lol. Anyway, what your mom said, kind of kills me, because I know how frustrating conversations like that are. It makes my heart sink a little. Even though the road can be rough, being authentic and religion-free makes it worthwhile in the long run. ❤️

      Reply

      • sallybr0wn
        Dec 25, 2015 @ 02:19:21

        My other sons are not religious even tho we did bring them up in church and in a Christian home. I started to have doubts…. Then I heard my one son tell my husband he didn’t believe in God…. I hadn’t told anyone my disbelief too. So I have some sons that believe as I do, but my husband and one other son have become even more religious. It’s hard… I’ll get angry at times because I didn’t marry this… Then again he didn’t marry a non believer. :/

        Luckily I’m still conservative in my politics ha ha ha, so I’m not completely crazy!!!! So I think he can still see I’m the same, I just don’t believe that Jesus is the son of God.

        I’ll read your whole blog… It seems we are alike. I don’t post anything agnostic…. But I am sure I will one day. I want people to feel empowered and not weak and having to depend on an imaginary being…. Lol.. Obviously I can’t state it like that, but it’s the truth!

      • notabarbie
        Dec 25, 2015 @ 02:27:27

        Haha! True! I’ve been there! Glad you have some of your kids on the same path. It helps. Have a great day! And Merry Christmas or what ever 😊

      • sallybr0wn
        Dec 25, 2015 @ 02:28:07

        Have a merry Christmas too!!!

Leave a Reply

