@%&#*!

anger-enjoyIt’s been such a busy time.  School’s out now. There was graduation, then college orientation, and to top it off I am selling my house.  I’ve thought about my blog every day, but just had no time to write.  Not that there hasn’t been lots of things to write about and when I am unable to put down in writing my thoughts, they race through my mind like a whirling dervish and I have little peace.  Thankfully, as I was confronted with some mind numbing stuff this morning, I made myself sit down and open my laptop.  It was either that or have my head explode.

As I watched the news this morning and saw that 19 firefighters lost their lives in a wild fire in Arizona—a special elite group of firefighters that all died together when the fire turned back on them–I was deeply saddened.  How very tragic.  As an atheist, I think about how nature sucks sometimes and there’s just no making sense of why.  It happens—bad stuff happens and there’s no god causing it or able to stop it.  Knowing this feels so much better than trying to do mental gymnastics to make sense of a “loving, all-knowing, all powerful god,” allowing or causing such a tragedy to happen.  My heart goes out to the families and I hope they have loved ones around them to comfort them in a time when there really is no comfort, just grief.

Unfortunately, I logged on to facebook and was immediately confronted with all the prayer posts.  I knew I would be, but it’s all good; “Let them pray,” I thought.  Then there was post from one of my facebook friends that sent me over the top. She had lost her ferret on Saturday and then this morning, she found him.  She posted, “I found my ferret.  Thank you Jesus.”  THANK YOU JESUS?! WTF?  You simply can’t make this stuff up. First I laughed, then I got angry and the anger grew.  It took everything in me not to comment on her post, “Oh, now I know why those firefighters died, God was busy looking for your effing ferret. Jesus must really think you are special.”  Why didn’t I?  As an atheist I have to think about everything I say.  Do they?

Do Christians even think about what they say?  As a non-believer it is so upsetting to see and hear Christians say mindless, imbecilic, and insensitive things like what the ferret owner said.  Sadly, as an atheist, I cannot say anything back, because suddenly I am a hater.  I’m trying to steal people’s faith away.  I want to ask her, since she seems to believe that God found her ferret, why he didn’t save those brave young men who were fighting to save others?  Of course there would be no answer, unless you count, “It’s just a mystery, or who are we to question god, or our finite minds just can’t comprehend the workings of god.”  What a bunch of ignorant BS!  If I did ask that question, she would think, “There she goes again.  She’s so mean.”  You know what?  She’s mean–mean,ignorant and delusional!  There, I said it.

Christians wonder why atheists seem so angry, and to be honest, we are sometimes, but we don’t start off angry; we honestly don’t.  We just want to have the same rights that Christians have when it comes to voicing our opinion, but we don’t and it gets frustrating.  When we say something they think is mean, or offensive, they point their fingers at us and say, “See? See?  Look how angry and bitter atheists are without God,” but let them say something so utterly ignorant and stupid as “Thank you Jesus for helping me find my ferret, while young fathers, brothers, and husbands burned to death,” and we had just better respect their faith.  We just need to be nice, fold our hands and nod our heads with a smile, so they will see we really are nice, caring people.  Fuck that.  Fuck them.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D'Ma
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 00:05:09

    Ridiculous self aggrandizement. Every.single.day.

    This is a Christian’s way of saying: “I am important…to God.”

    Has a sneaky way of backfiring when he doesn’t show up.

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Jul 02, 2013 @ 01:19:00

      …and yet somehow they seem to get around it… *slaps self on forehead…

      Reply

      • D'Ma
        Jul 02, 2013 @ 01:34:12

        Well, of course. He can locate ferrets. That’s simple enough. Give him something really hard like, say, saving some firefighters and suddenly he works in mysterious ways. Even when it’s one’s own son/husband/father. He has some incredible lesson we’ll all learn from it. We may never know what that is. But he has some reason that we don’t understand. He still cares. See, he found my ferret.

      • notabarbie
        Jul 02, 2013 @ 02:02:37

        Maddening. Makes me want to punch someone in the face, but I won’t, because I’m an atheist and we’re a peaceable bunch…

  2. pencil
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 15:32:34

    Don’t get down about it. There are some nice Christians. They aren’t all self contained “I’m such a good Christian and you aren’t” people. I’m someone who has been considering more rational alternatives to Christianity. I am already pretty convinced that a lot of things just sort of “happen” by themselves. But I still have trouble reconciling this with human history and origins. There is so much about the origins of religion we still don’t know. I’m researching Sodom, the 10 plagues ect. I want to know what REALLY happened. It is funny that so many people either really like or get offended by these old testament events . . . . but we cannot even begin to truly heal and understand until we actually explore this history. There is no myth that does not contain some truth. I was amazed to learn that Sodom was located . .. near a fault line and that apparently salt columns on hills by the Dead Sea are common.

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Jul 10, 2013 @ 04:07:28

      Well, there are good people and bad people. Some choose to believe in the spiritual, some don’t. I’ve met great people who happen to be Christians and great people who don’t believe in any sort of god or religion. I just happen to be talking about the ridiculousness of their beliefs and their unwillingness to see how ridiculous they are. You are right when you say that there is some truth in all myths, but for the most part, Christianity is a myth and the idea of a personal god that can choose to intervene on our behalf’s is also a myth. With that said, it was the very exploration of what you speak that moved me away from Christianity, but learning and exploring all of life’s mysteries is always thought provoking. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Reply

  3. ... Zoe ~
    Jul 03, 2013 @ 21:31:00

    It truly is frustrating. Thinking on it when is the last time you heard a non-believer/atheist say to a Christian: ‘Why you’re just angry and bitter, that’s why you converted to Christianity.’ Or this one: ‘You sound angry and bitter, must be your Christianity.’

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Jul 10, 2013 @ 03:59:04

      So true Zoe. They play by different rules. Where they win and atheists, or non theists lose.
      It’s kind of the way they set up prayer as well. Oh, God answers, it’s just just, now, or wait. That way God and their prayer never lose.

      Reply

  4. SuitLin
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 01:30:50

    I have one friend who thanked Jesus for helping her pass a level in the Candy Crush game.

    Reply

  5. pencil
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 02:38:17

    People who believe prayer really works need to do an experiment. They need to say prayers without really meaning it for 6 months and see if it makes any difference at all. I’m strongly betting it doesn’t.

    Reply

  6. pencil
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 02:40:12

    You see, if you can pray without meaning it and still have it be “as if” payers are getting answered, then it was just chance all along after all.

    Reply

  7. Boomslang
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 07:53:01

    I feel you on the anger/frustration part. Similarly, I have a good FB friend whose young daughter is having her tonsils removed. This friend(the girl’s mother) is a devout Catholic, and she basically typed a paragraph-long “prayer” about how she’s praying to “the Lord”, yadda, asking to let his arms “be her protection”, yadda, yadda, finishing it with “Amen”. ‘Did not one time mention the doctors who spent countless hours training to be surgeons. I so wanted to point this out, but then I’d be seen as the mean ol’, negative, kill-joy, Atheist, blah, blah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

