Place Saver Post

empty-fuel-sad-face_designI’m so bummed out I couldn’t post yesterday.  I do have good reasons (Does food poisoning count?), but now I just have to hope that I can nail January.  Worst-case scenario, I post ALMOST every day all the way until summer, right?  Anyway, because I am now playing catch-up, I may not get a post in today, and I had to put something here.  I do have a lot on my mind.

One thing that I’m thinking of is how to handle it when people tell you that they when they lose a loved one, they have to believe that they are in a “better place?”  They have to believe in a heaven in order to make it through.  Is it wrong to tell them they are believing in something that there is absolutely no proof of, or do we leave them to their delusions so they feel better?  I really do struggle with that.  Hopefully I can expand on this idea later today.

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ... Zoe ~
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 19:12:35

    Food poisoning counts! Take care of you.

    In my own experience I try to never tell someone they are wrong to believe in heaven. When it comes to that stuff I relate what I believe or don’t believe (if they ask) but I never tell them they are wrong.

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Dec 25, 2012 @ 00:06:29

      Yeah, I hear ya’. I don’t want to be that person again, telling people they are wrong and they need to believe my way. I have some ex-Christian friends that believe by not telling them, it’s like letting them take poison just because they believe it will make them feel better. Part of me feels like that’s coming from the trauma of de-conversion. Being indoctrinated and then breaking free can (pardon my language) fuck one up. I need to think about it some more. I’ll read that article ASAP.

      Reply

  2. ... Zoe ~
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 20:31:09

    Me again. I found this article http://skepticink.com/enoughsenough/2012/12/24/leave-them-alone-they-need-their-faith/ this morning and thought of this post of yours. Might be of some help in pondering your questions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

