Ah, The War On Christmas

Keep_Christ_in_Christmas

There’s been a lot of talk lately, mostly in the conservative media, about the “War on Christmas.  Evidently, there is some sort of conspiracy among atheists and, god-forbid, Jews to take Jesus out of Christmas.  According to FOX News, we are trying to ruin it for them.

Now, having been out in among the masses as of late, I’ve noticed something.  People are stressed out, angry, distracted and all around me are people talking on their cell phones about where to get such-and-such a gift, or how they can’t find anything for so-and so, all the while ignoring their own children who have their hand or are sitting in their cart.  These people are thinking about a lot of things—Jesus in not one of them.  I could be wrong, but I’m fairly certain that putting nativity scenes up all over the city would not change this.  I believe if there was a Jesus he would be the one firing the first shot in this so-called war.  I’m not sure if there very many people all that concerned about taking “Jesus” out of Christmas, but I believe if Jesus existed he would take himself out.

This can be a wonderful time year.  There are lights and parties and togetherness, lets just be human together.  Happy Holidays!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. myatheistlife
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 13:39:56

    I rate this post ‘hell yes’ … approved

    Reply

  2. juliesamazed
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 13:56:00

    N – Yes, yes, yes! You have so many good points here. My fave – ‘These people are thinking about a lot of things – Jesus is not one of them.’ Even when I was in the throes, for me, Jesus was not really, truly, one of them. I was too busy making sure to say, ‘Merry Christmas’ instead of ‘Happy Holidays,’ and everything else that that entailed. And my reasons were anything but loving, Christian ones.

    I so much prefer your ‘being human together’ suggestion. And Happy Holidays to you!

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Dec 14, 2012 @ 01:22:47

      It was the same for me Julieamazed. Sometimes when someone would say, “Happy Holidays, I’d defiantly spit back, “Merry Christmas!” That’s right, I was standing up for Jesus, god dammit 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting on this post. I felt like this was my lamest one ever. I banged it out right before hitting the hay last night. I’m learning to let go of perfection and I appreciate your support!

      Reply

  3. ... Zoe ~
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 19:54:32

    You wrote: These people are thinking about a lot of things—Jesus in not one of them.

    When you consider that most people in the U.S. and we’ll say Canada as well identify as Christian, this really hits home. Where is the Peace On Earth Good Will To Men sentiment?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

