Here, Take the Virgins…as a Parting Gift.

A friend of mine, Bill, posted this on his facebook wall this morning with commentary:  “Words from the Bible:  Numbers 31:17: Now therefore kill every male among the little ones, and kill every woman that hath known man by lying with him.18: But all the women children, that have not known a man by lying with him, keep alive for yourselves.-Moses”

His commentary included a question that I believe any rational human being would ask: “Is there any excuse that justifies this kind of thinking in a book billions of people claim comes from a loving god, written by men held in favor by this god?”  The answer, of course, is no.   Well…at least one would think that would be the answer.

I thought about what I would have said when I was fully immersed in Christianity.  Then one of Bill’s Christian friends commented:

“The context of that verse was/is?  Christ is the fulfillment of the law… OT observances and etc no longer apply.”

Hmmm, interesting. I hope I would not have responded in that way.  I hope I would have been taken aback by those passages and questioned my belief system.  I don’t think I did though, because I have read the Bible many times cover to cover, and somehow those passages never even raised an eyebrow; proof to me that I was completely brainwashed.  I mean, what context could possibly excuse this type of horror? Plus, I’m no scholar, but I see no “law” or “observances” referenced in those verses.  It was just the God of Moses, pissed off at people who didn’t believe in him.  Well, in actuality, it was a god made up by Moses so he could destroy the infidel and get some virgins in the process, but I digress.

I try to imagine what it would have been like to watch my father, my brothers, and my mother being slaughtered, and THEN, to have been turned over to ruthless men as a sex slave. How could anyone take comfort in the idea that “God” really is a “god of love” because Christ is the fucking fulfillment of the law? I can’t tell you how angry I got reading the response from that Christian man (and believe me, it is a common response from Christians).  I can’t tell you how the horror of that story strikes me to the core, even now. Guess I just care more about humanity than the God of the Old Testament did. Christians comfort themselves and defend their god, by saying Jesus came along to “fulfill the law.” They may have a point. Wait a second; doesn’t that same Bible say that Jesus and God are one and when you see Jesus, you see God, and doesn’t it also say that God is the same, yesterday, today and forever?  Well now, that’s awkward.

Leave a Reply

