I Reclaim It All!

I grew up in a fundamentalist church–The Church of Christ.  We were not allowed to have instrumental music during worship or in the church at all, for that matter. We were only allowed to make music with our voices.  We also sang only traditional hymns and, creepily, I still remember every word of just about every one of those hymns.  Thankfully, in my life now, I rarely encounter anything that will remind me of them, but recently, here on my blog, the unthinkable happened.  My dear friend Zoe referred to the hymn, “I Surrender All,” in one of her comments.  Every day since, that hymn has been turning over and over in my mind,a hymn worm, if you will.  I even found myself breaking out into the chorus from time to time–much to my horror. I tried listening to different music, as I sang along.  I even tried listening to Lil’ Wayne.  I figured if anyone could scare Jesus away, it would be him, but nothing would make that hymn go away!  In an effort to save what was left of my sanity, I altered the words a bit. The same melody is there, but with new lyrics. It worked.  Here is my new version:

All to this life I surrender

All to life I freely give

I will ever live it fully

Free and joyful daily live.

I reclaim it all!

I reclaim it all!

All I sacrificed to serve Him

I reclaim it all!

So there you have it–my new anthem.  Thank you Zoe!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ... Zoe ~
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 19:10:16

    In my best Steve Urkel (Family Matters t.v. program) . . . Did I do that?! *pensive grin*

    Your new anthem is beautiful. I wish I could come up with new words to Amazing Grace. Love the tune, hate the “wretched worm” part.

    Reply

  2. notabarbie
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 22:09:21

    LOL! I’m going to work on Amazing Grace. Right after I left the faith and had told no one at that point. I was asked to sing that hymn at my mother in laws funeral. I remember thinking, “Wow,” I really was blind and now can see.”

    Reply

  3. Pretentious Ape
    Sep 24, 2012 @ 06:40:55

    The church I grew up in wasn’t as conservative as yours, but this hymn was an altar call staple (along with “Just As I Am”). Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

