Standing Firm

I’m very proud of my son today.  Not just because he scored two of the three goals in a shut out game, but because of his courage. He chose not to be manipulated by peer pressure.  As I sat in that stands before the game, I looked out onto the field and saw that the entire soccer team was kneeling, heads bowed, in prayer–except for one.  One lone student remained standing–my son.  I wish I could have gotten a picture.  I would have posted it here, but you get the picture. We’ve never discussed the pre game prayer before.  I’m not even sure if they do it all the time–it is a public school after all, but there he was, standing, head unbowed, hands behind his back, patiently waiting for the rest of the team to finish.  He could have just knelt down and not prayed, but I believe he wanted to make a statement–he doesn’t believe in a god.  He does not believe in the power of prayer.  It was so nice to see him exhibit strength and courage and believe me, on his high school campus, it took those two virtues to do what he did and he was rewarded with two goals…rewarded by god?  No, rewarded by hard work.  I could not have loved him more at that moment.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. juliesamazed
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 02:06:35

    Barb – so happy to see a couple new posts from you! Congrats on your son’s courage to be who he is, especially at his young age when nature presses on them to be like everyone else in the crowd. Please keep writing; I savor each word, my friend!

    Reply

  2. notabarbie
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 02:14:36

    Thank you Julie! That means a lot!

    Reply

  3. HeIsSailing
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 06:47:32

    Congratulations to your athlete son!! Good to know he is learning this lesson young – success takes hard work. Time in the prayer closet does nothing.

    Reply

  4. notabarbie
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 07:00:42

    So true my friend. After his head injury last year and the loss of all his sense of taste and smell, I’m sure he prayed for God to restore it. God sure showed him, huh?

    Reply

  5. ... Zoe ~
    Oct 07, 2011 @ 07:32:39

    This one brought tears to my eyes. (((Hugs)))

    Reply

  6. CrazyMomma (@hornets_darlin)
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 05:12:51

    this is a great story! i just let my son, who is almost 11, read this and it brought a smile to his face. my son has come to his personal beliefs on his own and he has, for the first time, had to be “the odd man out” because of it. it does take courage to be true to yourself and good for him for doing so 🙂

    Reply

  7. notabarbie
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 12:41:27

    Thank you so much for sharing that. It means so much that something I wrote encourages someone else, especially a young person just beginning. That is so awesome! Thank you for reading and for commenting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

