Freedom!

This sculpture  by Zenos Frudakis is entitled “Freedom,”  and it illustrates, perfectly, my journey to freedom, and the journey of many others now set free.  For me, it was not only religion, but also marriage (although it was my religious beliefs that kept me in a marriage that was no longer working), and for the first time in my life I am free to rediscover who I am and live in that. It’s hard for me to even believe how bound I was, but I don’t ever want to completely forget, otherwise I might lose compassion for those still bound, but, man,  it feels good!  When one lets go of religious dogma, their whole world changes and only those who have been there know what I mean. Religious dogma and a marriage that was long over, stifled me, bound me crippled me.  No more and it is grand!

Leave a Reply

