Facebook Finale

So,  a couple weeks back, I finished up my reasons for leaving Christianity on facebook and am happy to move on to different topics there, although I do share an article or video from time to time that might be considered “controversial.”

As I mentioned in an earlier blog, some of my Christian facebook friends engaged me on my wall.  Not to find understanding or common ground, but to argue.  As time went on and my arguments for leaving more complex, their comments stopped for the most part.  Once the comments stopped, I did write that I was surprised that my Christian friends weren’t coming forward to defend their beliefs given there were so many non believers on my wall and it was a great opportunity for them.  That produced  two comments to the tune of, it’s my faith and I believe it and I won’t try and defend it here.  Translation:  “I have no defense against your reasoning—so, I will play my faith card now—try and argue against that!”  Okay, fair enough.

In my last status post, I tried to tie everything up in a big bow.  There was so much I would have liked to have said, but I tried to summarize.  The last part of the post went like this:  “There’s just one last bit of business I need to take care of and that’s to quickly mention the things that had nothing to do with my de-conversion in the hope that I can quell some of the rumors that have been going around. I’m sorry to say that much of the gossip that has been swirling about the church community gets back to me and that probably hurts more than anything, but it is the Christian way, isn’t it?

So in closing, let me address those directly:  I did not reject Christianity because I am mad at god, at people, or because I wanted to commit some sin. I did not de-convert because of my divorce, nor did I divorce because of my de-conversion. I did not de-convert because I was pre, mid, postmenopausal or hormonally imbalanced in some other way. I am not a lesbian (I like lesbians, but I am not one) and I did not have an affair. Hmmm…let’s see, I think that about covers it. Oh, and please refrain from having any more prayer gatherings for me, which involve invites that are sent over the Internet mentioning me by name and my state of apostasy. People are way to liberal with the forward button, and it is an invasion of my privacy.

So, to my dear Christian friends, I have now put forth my reasons for leaving as succinctly as I can. It is on you now to take me at my word.”

I received few comments on that last post, and the ones I did receive, were positive.

I feel good.  I feel strong.  I never thought I would have ever had the courage to write the things I did and yet, here I am.     The best part about all this is the people I have encouraged in their de-conversion and those I have given renewed strength to.  I received so many private messages in that regard and that, my friend, makes it all worthwhile.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 03:11:33

    Well done my friend. You’ve got to know this “… pre, mid, postmenopausal or hormonally imbalanced in some other way.” – brought a great big smile to my face. :mrgreen:

    Reply

  2. HeIsSailing
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 08:43:43

    Congratulations to you, notabarbie. Putting your reasons down for all to see is a great, idea – a way of purging, then moving on. Perhaps I need to do the same, even though I do not Facebook.

    PS – pre,mid,post…. for a split second there, I thought you were referring to Christian eschatology – pretrib, posttrib, etc… agh that Christian lingo will stay with you for years..

    Reply

  3. Samanthamj
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 05:44:45

    been a long time… I’m happy to see this post… even if it was from August. How are you doing now?

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Dec 19, 2010 @ 21:16:30

      Hi Samanthamj! It has been a long time! I’ve been through a lot over the past few months and hopefully while I am on break, I can write about some of it, but in spite of it all, I’m doing quite well and without Jesus…go figure. I’m in the middle of moving so it may be a couple of weeks. How are you? What’s new in your life?
      Thanks for reading 🙂

      Reply

  4. notabarbie
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 13:32:11

    I feel sad for you…pity you actually. For someone who accuses me of not having a life…it appears that you are the one who does not have one…

    Reply

  5. ... Zoe ~
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 06:13:41

    Every time “Deanne Ellis” comments, another wave is missed. 🙄

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Aug 29, 2011 @ 07:08:32

      I know! With all her wave catching where does she find the time to “write?” At first was not going to approve her comment and then I thought, well, even people that don’t have a life deserve to be heard. Geez.

      Reply

  6. ... Zoe ~
    Aug 29, 2011 @ 21:12:23

    You have to wonder what is behind “Deanne’s” motive here? Possibly someone who knows you? After all, this is a quiet blog for the most part and yet Deanne shows up here. Why? For someone who wants you to get on with your life, you’d think they’d leave you alone.

    Reply

  7. notabarbie
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 02:13:01

    I’ve wondered the same thing. Very few people even know about this blog. They would either have to know about it from me personally or be cyberstalking me to find it. I think it’s the latter, because I can’t imagine anyone I trusted enough to tell about this blog, doing this, but whatever. That’s what I say about inane things I don’t understand–whatever :-). I’m sure they aren’t who they say they are though. I’ve been painfully honest on this blog and don’t even understand their motives or their insinuations, but, whatever they are, they need to find something better to do and I hope they do. If not–whatever. How are you doing anyway? Email me!

    Reply

  8. ... Zoe ~
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 19:19:34

    Looks like you are not only catching waves you’re in the wave, with your new avatar. 🙂

    I think “Deanne’s” behaviour points to someone who knows you or knows someone who knows you . . . and I suspect “Deanne” is likely an alias. His/her motive indicates a desire to mess with you, that’s for sure.

    I’ll email you soon.

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Sep 05, 2011 @ 03:44:56

      In the wave is the best place to be! Being the sleuth that I am, I discovered who Deanne is…won’t be hearing from HIM again….
      Not sure what the motives were, but I remain unscathed. Look forward to hearing from you soon.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

