I Lit A Fire and I’m Watching it Burn

It’s not that I haven’t been writing because I have, but it’s mostly been on my Facebook wall.  I recently decided to put one reason per day, in my status line, why I rejected Christianity.  I started with reason #1, which was I took a Systematic Theology Class only to discover that my deepest questions were answered with, “It’s a mystery,” and I’m now up to reason #7, which goes something like this:  There is absolutely no reliable evidence that the Bible is what it claims to be-the inerrant word of God.  In the middle are others such as the subjugation of women and the atrocities in the Old Testament, and of course the ridiculous creation story as opposed to evolution science.  It’s been interesting and a bit eye opening.   The thing that has surprised me the most is just how limited a Christian’s thinking is.  I’m not saying they are stupid, in fact many are very intelligent, but they can’t move outside of Christian thought. It has been stunning in some ways. I actually had one friend defend creationism against evolution by saying that when we look at a painting or beautiful architecture, we readily acknowledge the artist or builder, so why not look at the world around us and acknowledge God as it’s creator?

In response to reason #7, I had a friend ask me for empirical evidence that God does not exist, and he is an extremely smart guy.  How do you prove something doesn’t exist?  I’m becoming more and more convinced that Christians, and I say Christians because Christianity is the religion I know most about, are brainwashed.  It’s the only explanation I have at this point.  I think it’s pretty miraculous that others and I have been able to break free from it, now that I see it in action.  Anyway, that’s what’s going on.  I will write more about it as I go along.  Before I sign off,  I want to share one exchange that took place after I posted reason #2:  “I visited the Natural History Museum in NYC and discovered that scientist have a verifiable way to tell, within limits, the age of the earth and all things on it. I remember thinking …why don’t I remember learning this?” I received many comments on that one, but the most amazing one was from a young woman from my old church that had been homeschooled all the way through high school.  She went into the whole, where’s the missing link, thing and so I encouraged her to move away from Christian literature on the subject and read some books about evolutionary science.  This was her response to me, verbatim:  “I’ve actually never even read Christian literature, (never been big on books) only heard passed down from people to people I suppose.”  At first I thought she might be being sarcastic or something…she was not.  How does one respond to that?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 07:45:23

    I wonder if that girl has even read the Bible? I wonder if she still believes in Santa, the Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy? We heard that stuff passed down from person to person throughout time. Why doesn’t she still believe in those entities? I’m sure she didn’t have to read a book to find out otherwise.

    I read a short story in a local newspaper, where the journalist interviewed a new youth pastor in one of the churches. He was in medicine, studying to be a doctor, when he just up and quit school because he couldn’t stand the teaching of evolution in his courses. He grew up and was educated in Christian schools where creationism was taught. He was proud of himself for leaving school, giving up being a doctor and chosing to be a youth pastor so he could influence youth before they got out in the world and found out I guess, that most people don’t believe God created the earth in six literal days, about 10,000 years ago. He chose instead he said, to heal people spiritually instead of physically.

    Back to that young girl…what can you say? If she’s not willing to read, she isn’t going to learn anything new. Heck, even if she read some Christian books she’d find that many Christians are accepting an old-earth dating now and even some believe in evolution, while still holding to their faith.

    Actually though, just posting what you are posting on Facebook is getting her out of the box. Maybe one day she’ll strike out on her own and find out there is this whole other universe of thought to explore.

    I didn’t know you were into fire. :mrgreen:

    Reply

  2. Rob
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 10:33:47

    In response to the friend who asked for empirical evidence that god does not exist: the burden of proof is not on you. You no more have to prove the existence of god than you have to prove the claim of any supernatural being (i.e., a unicorn). There is no evidence that unicorn’s exist, so anyone claiming that they are real is responsible for supplying ample evidence. By the way, when you do turn it around on him, don’t let him use any of that “well-all-creation-cries-out-” BS. The only thing that existence bears evidence of is existence itself. Yes existence requires a cause, but that doesn’t imply that it requires a “supernatural” cause. Nature’s cause is nature, and there’s more than sufficient evidence for that claim.

    Reply

    • notabarbie
      Jun 29, 2010 @ 12:04:53

      I know, it’s pretty amazing isn’t it? I did tell him that it would be like expecting someone to prove that Santa doesn’t exist. Of course we know that he does :-), but seriously, several people have used the whole, look at the beauty of nature and the complexity of the brain, and our ability to love and feel compassion…etc., etc., line as evidence. I have asked of them, how do you make the leap from that to proof of the Christian God and the idea that our only way to heaven is Jesus and the Bible is true? So far, no answer. I did get Pascal’s Wager presented to me though…I know, it’s pretty amazing isn’t it? I did tell him that it would be like expecting someone to prove that Santa doesn’t exist. Of course we know that he does :-), but several people have used the, look at the beauty of nature and the complexity of the brain, and our ability to love and feel compassion…etc., etc. I have asked of them, how do you make the leap from that to the Christian God and the idea that our only way to heaven is Jesus and the Bible is true? So far, no answer. I did get Pascal’s Wager presented to me though…now that’s original! It’s been interesting. Right now I’m debating the lack of proof for the historical Jesus and also the lack of evidence that the Bible is the inerrant word of God. I cannot believe just how brain washed I was…it’s embarrassing. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Reply

      • Rob
        Jul 01, 2010 @ 09:39:00

        “Right now I’m debating the lack of proof for the historical Jesus and also the lack of evidence that the Bible is the inerrant word of God.”

        Rather than the lack of evidence that the Bible is the inerrant word of God, how about the abundance of evidence that it isn’t? (see skepticsannotatedbible.com and evilbible.com). It’s stunning when you see all of the blatant contradictions compiled together like that. Can’t believe I used to fall for (and promote) the idea that they are only “apparent contradictions”!

        And Pascal’s Wager? Yep, that’s a classic. Paul Tobin has an excellent article about it here (http://webspace.webring.com/people/np/paul_tobin/pascal.html).

        Best

  3. notabarbie
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 07:13:07

    Thanks Rob! Great link. Very helpful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

