A Note to My Christian Sisters…

To my Christian sisters:  The ones I laughed and cried with, comforted, listened to and taught the ways of Jesus–I was wrong and there is a better way, a way to freedom and knowledge that you are wonderful just the way you are.  You are unique, creative and you have an intuition—an inner voice that you have stopped listening to, because if it tells you to do something other than the teachings of the religion you have been following–it is sin and it must be rejected.  The truth is, men created the religion you follow, not a deity that can save or condemn you.  There was a time when women were considered magical, strong–divine and you are. Man made religion has worked hard to suppress and oppress you.   But you see, there is no “sin of Eve,” and your bodies are your own.  You are wise and are capable of leading anyone—man or woman. Although you doubt it, you are free to express yourself in any way you desire.  You can dress, dance, sing, create and love in what ever way you like, without judgment from an unseen God.  As Christian women, you may look at Muslim women dressed in burkas and pity them.  My dear sisters, you too are wearing burkas.  Yours are just unseen to the outside world.  I know because  I wore one and it took me years to shed mine. To you I say, take them off; take them off, embrace life and soar. You’ll wonder why you waited so long.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. GrayArea
    Apr 05, 2010 @ 12:51:33

    Barbara – I saw a comment you made on the de-con site and found your blog. I’d love to ‘friend’ you on facebook, but I’m not sure which Barbara Schmidt you are. I really enjoy your blog, and find myself in a similar situation, as far as the deconversion situation. All the ‘he is risen’s on my facebook wall today really make me sad for all these people who were so important in my life over the last 20-or-so years. Anyway, can you help me find you on fb? Thanks – I’ll be looking forward to your reply.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

