One of the reasons I am glad to be free of Christianity

Below is a note I posted on my Facebook wall.  I thought I would share it here for two reasons.  I thought it might be of interest to you and now that school has begun in earnest, (17.5 units worth) I am double dipping :-).  I hope you enjoy it.

This quote by C.S. Lewis was posted on a friend’s status this morning:
“We must not suppose that if we succeeded in making everyone nice we should have saved their souls. A world of nice people, content in their own niceness, looking no further, turned away from God, would be just as desperately in need of salvation as a miserable world.” 

When I read that quote, I thought, wow, really? And then it made me sad, because I remembered what it felt like to always be under pressure to share the gospel and to bring people to Christ and no matter what they were or what they had done, it didn’t matter because unless they were a Christian, they were lost–less in some way–to be pitied. I feel sad for those that still live under that  burden.  By believing that they are responsible to share Christ and his salvation with everyone and that there will be some reward and some better life after this one, they are missing out on some amazing relationships.

I’m so happy that I don’t have to live under the assumption that I have any souls to save. I just love being around and getting to know people–who ever they are and how ever they think and I NEVER think of them as saved or unsaved–less or lost. I think of them as fellow humans on this planet trying to live life and I’ve never lived it more fully than I do now and you know what? Give me a world of nice heretics any day.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 22:37:09

    Amen sister Barbara. Amen.

    All the best with school. (((Hugs)))

    Reply

  2. boomslang
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 03:30:00

    Sadly, that’s what it always boils down to with Christians–people are either “saved”, or “unsaved”.

    Nice blog.

    Reply

  3. OneSmallStep
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 09:51:51

    I read quotes like that, and my first reaction is “I’m not your project.”

    Reply

  4. notabarbie
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 11:24:53

    I know…it’s weird though, most of the time I can’t get them to admit that they see people like that. They dance around it and they typically won’t come out and say it because…well…it sounds bad…

    Reply

  5. maestra
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 18:27:15

    Hello! Nice to find your blog! Do you have a link to your fb? I’d love to find you on there! My fb is composed of about 99% christians..so I need to start balancing it!

    Reply

  6. Old Pete
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 17:46:19

    I’ve just had a couple of interesting days looking at the exchristian forum. I could so relate to what Maestra has written and some of the responses.

    I’m 73 and in one sense I’ve been living outside the walls of traditional Christianity for about 40 years.

    For me there is an enormous difference between the Christian RELIGION and the Christian FAITH. My son and son-in-law are both atheists (and that really doesn’t cause me any problems after the way they have been treated by ‘church’).

    I am considered by several people to be a heretic – I do have some unusual beliefs!

    If someone were to tell me that they didn’t believe in God, I would ask them to tell me something about the god they don’t believe in, because maybe I don’t believe in that god either.

    Over the last five or six years I seem to have learned a lot about why people believe what they believe (often based on divisive denominational theology) – and over the last few weeks I’m beginning to appreciate even more the thinking of those who have deliberately dissociated themselves with Christianity.

    I like to think I have an open mind and would appreciate any thoughts.

    Reply

  7. herrad
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 03:05:20

    Hi Barbara
    Please go to my blog and pick up your award.
    Love,
    Herrad

    Reply

  8. Zoe
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 07:57:37

    :mrgreen:

    Reply

  9. herrad
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 01:01:13

    Hi,
    Happy Christmas.
    Love,
    Herrad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

