The Man I Loved

 

Savior, Father, friend

To be there for all time

All knowing and all seeing

He said vengeance would be mine

There each time I stumbled

There each time I fell

I believed the book that said

He’d send me straight to hell

Don’t think, don’t ask don’t ever

Step outside the box

I bear the sin of Eve I must

Submit at every cost

I thought he was the only way

To enter heaven’s gate

I didn’t see that all the lies

Were filling me with hate.

One day I turned and walked a way

From the lover I had known

Father, Son and Holy Ghost

And now I’m finally grown

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mary a. kaufman
    Dec 31, 2008 @ 01:19:10

    Your poem reminds me of what I went through back in 1960 when my husband discovered I was no longer a believing fundamental Christian. For him, there was absolutely nothing to take the place for belief in God, Jesus and the Holy Ghost. I found relief in unbelief, as he did some two or three years later.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

